postmortem winter, way home

weak grey light
peels up my eyelids.
we used to take walks
on cold days like this
little finch,
you far ahead and full of life
me, behind
i walked so slow i
felt more empty
than
I am now
a pane of glass
i’d like to have shattered it
if i tried

i can’t quite get it right.
if only i could say,
if only it was,
was
I walk on
cold hands, open
by my sides
somewhere on the ground
a tender thing
the grass is grey, pressed down
i want to lay with my face up
and feel it press me down like that
freeze me still
make my bones unstuck together
and compress me into the earth
like a damp leaf
instead i’m cold as stone and i feel like it too
hard. hard.
there were times i was warm as butter
none of it mine
a hundred degrees of softness
i’d wrap you up in it,
if i could; and me too, both of us
warm yellow melt

i
’m a piece of stone
my mouth tastes of minerals, iron, salt
the teeth hurt
somewhere on the ground

a tender thing

 

Leave a comment